Beauty · Budgeting

How Project Pans have Changed my Spending

Right before I started my Largest Project Pan Ever in 2016, I was on the lookout for a new makeup case. I needed something large enough to hold my pallets but also compartmentalized enough to help keep everything organized. What I ended up with was a fishing tackle box. I’m not kidding.

When I brought it home I was excited to fill it up with all of my makeup items, and come to find out I had more than enough. I grabbed my box in the bathroom closet and off of the counter to start organizing. Doing this brought me to the realization that I had way too much stuff. I had samples from IPSY bags that I received almost a year before, and of course all the items I purchased at Ulta when I had a bad day.

This is where the idea for the Largest Project Pan Ever came from. I wrote down every single item that I had  and come up with 143 items in total. My goal being to finish them all, no time limit, and only purchasing if I need to replace something.

Since October, I have used a lot of the items in this project pan, and I have kept up pretty well with my low-buy, but I have seen a change in my spending when it comes to those items I’m starting to repurchase.

When I finish an item on the list, I decide if it is something that I know I would want to repurchase I would mark it and write it down on my repurchase list. Doing this helps a lot because if I know I already like something I am much more willing to repurchase just that item and not deviate.

With that I try to wait to order those items when they are on sale or have a free gift with purchase. Usually the gift is a sample of another item from that line. Also ordering it online helps because you get extra samples. I rely heavily on samples if I want to try a product out, that way I don’t have to purchase a full size and worry if I don’t like it. It saves a lot of decluttering in the long run.

This also helps with wanting to do my research before I try a new item. Having a sample or a travel sized version of the time does help, but I also check the reviews of an item or even beauty blogs. They often have visuals of the item in use as well as the results.

Speaking of visuals, having a way to completely visualize the amount of products I have helps because I know I don’t need more products. More than likely I have 5 similar eyeliners in black, I don’t need the newest liquid eyeliner from L’Oreal.

I cancelled my subscription to IPSY and limit my interaction on Influenster. I decided to do this so I don’t have to deal with a constant supply of makeup arriving at my doorstep. A good portion of the items on my list are from IPSY, and with some of them being full sized items,  it is going to be a while before I finish them all.

Finally, I’ve changed how I approach going to the beauty section of a store or a beauty store. I can now say that I am capable of going into Ulta just to look at stuff but to also not have the urge to go to Ulta on a bad day.

I’m not purchasing nearly at much as I used to and I’m currently experimenting will all the items I have. It’s more enjoyable this way because I don’t feel like I’m missing out on the new items. More than likely I already have something similar that I really enjoy. Hopefully, I can keep finishing items so my stash can be minimized and I can invest the money that I was spending on beauty items on things that I really need. Like getting an apartment.

For my other project panners out there, have you seen your spending change since you’ve started doing project pans? Are you willing to do one to see if it helps yours? Let me know in the comments below!

Jess

One thought on “How Project Pans have Changed my Spending

  1. I’ve stopped buying things unless I absolutely ‘need’ it. Usually to replace products when I have nothing similar in my collection. I used to buy just to buy and this is how you end up with 16 lipsticks that are just about the same shade! Lol

    My project pan has helped me out a lot and I feel a lot better now that I’m actually getting use out of my stuff instead of wasting money for it to just sit in a drawer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

