Lifestyle

Learning to Have a Side Hustle – and Taking It Seriously

Side Hustle

Having a side hustle has become much more popular as of late. It’s more than selling AVON or Mary Kay makeup at your house. It’s a way of life that just seems money smart. For me I’m going to take serious steps towards developing my side hustle so I can get the benefits of not only having a day job but also still doing something that I love.

I Gotta Do It For Me

In 2016 I earned by first $100 doing something for myself, book editing through Fiverr. I originally started my Fiverr account to try and gain some experience in editing fiction before I go back to school for my Bachelor’s in English, but this year I want to do more than that. I want this to become a serious side hustle to help make things like paying off my $3000 in medical bills easier.

So starting this month, I am taking things more seriously, and will start putting more effort in to my side hustles (blogging and Fiverr). Doing this gives me a better sense of control. I get out of it what I put into it, and it will encourage me to learn more and get better at what I enjoy doing.

Everyone is Doing It

It seems that I’m not the only person that feels this way. Last June, Quartz published an article titled “Millennials are obsessed with side hustles because they are all we’ve got”. In this article they call millennials a different name, Generation 1099, after the tax form normally filed by freelancers and independent contractors. It mainly discusses the many reasons why this generation created this feeling of necessity when it comes to side hustles. In truth, many of the points in this article match my own reasons for doing them. For example, it’s a supplementation of not only my income but my resume as well.

Reaching the Media’s Attention

The word side hustle has gotten a lot of media attention over recent years, and is becoming a buzzword. So much so, that well known business magazines like Success have made entire issues focusing on it, as well as books about it getting onto the bestseller lists. Though it all may be because the most recent comprehensive survey shows that 35% of the current workforce are freelancers in some form, and is shown to increase exponentially over time.

Creating a Lifestyle

Side hustles and freelancing are becoming more of a way of life than a need to survive. It’s money smart because job security has become unpredictable in more fields as companies see more benefits from outsourcing. But it is also career smart because it is encouraging people to expand their skill-sets so that they will be seen as valuable to possible clients and employers. It also is becoming easier to incorporate it into your daily life with platforms like Uber, Lyft, and AirBnB, so selling your kidney on Ebay isn’t your only option to make a quick buck anymore.

A Note of Caution

With all things it is important to do this with a grain of salt. Here are somethings to keep in mind.

  • Just because you start a Fiverr account, doesn’t mean that you are going to get a lot of people coming to you right away. Make sure you do the research of the market and see if there is a demand for what you want to do.
  • There are ways that people can scam you and never pay for the service you provide, hence why platforms that provide a middle man to guarantee that you get paid are so popular.
  • Start small, and don’t do more than you know you are able to do to prevent burnouts. It does better for your return-on-investment and nothing should go to waste.

Do you have a side hustle? How and why did you start? What do you think about the statistics I mentioned in this article? Let me know in the comments below.

Jess

Leave a Reply

